Being a Bengali, a curse or a boon?

Since I was little, whenever I used to say that I am Bengali, ever one used to say “Oh! Roshogolla, very creative people you are!” and I used to think why would they say something like that. As I grew up, I started working and my interest grew mostly towards art. media, writing, etc. I started focusing on photography and my writing all the more, working under my mother, doing internships, blah blah. Now when I think about those people, it’s difficult to say whether they were right or wrong.

India-Gate

Yeh Delhi hai meri jaan!!

Delhi being my birthplace, I never had any Bengali friend and I am very happy about it since I can’t get along with them at all. Being in a non-Bengali thought-process family, for me, it became easier to take risks, unlike the typical Bongs! I started my own Home-baker, Le gateau India which includes both sweet and savory food. The kya be saale has been much more comfortable than shona…seriously eew, who says stuff like that!

If I go against Bengalis then I would say, 99% bongs can be categorized as lazy, non-risk-takers, few of them are pseudo-intellectuals, growing beard makes them Rabindranath, taking about Netaji’s heroism makes them feel strong even though they are bunch of cowards, there is soo much to say but hard to finish.

_DSC2233

Park Street, Kolkata

Being a boon would compromise of creative thinking, innovative ideas, creativity inborn, few write good, few sings well, all of them are a foodie, Durga puja (woow), roaming around in Kolkata still gives you the British Era feeling. It’s fun having a bong friend.

If I start talking about it, it will go on and on and on and on. But for me, I like being a Bong but limited, I love Punjabi’s more :P.  I am a born diliwali, get a bong friend and decide yourself! 😀

7936c608e374ecd25def95c6bd3bb332

Je Baat!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

