Movie time, To Sir with Love (1967)

To Sir with Love by James Clavell

Star of the movie: Sidney Poitier, Judy Geeson, Christian Roberts

 

maxresdefault

If you wanted the sky

I would write across the sky in letters
That would soar a thousand feet high
To Sir, with love

Lulu, To Sir with Love

An engineer by profession, Mark Thackeray, a black guy joins a post as a high school teacher at north Quay Secondary School in London. The school is situated in a rough area where the kids living are mostly troubled with their life situation but still they attend school. The place where the school is situated, the people around it still has that backward thinking of racial discrimination. Because of all these issues, Mark faces many difficulties handling the students of his class. The main bully out of all the students was Bert Denham who used to be supported by Pamela. After an incident which he considers the last straw, he understands how he needs to handle the rough, spoilt, troubled kids of his class. The usual way is not the solution, a new, practical and innovative method used by Mark Thackeray which resulted in a drastic change by the end of the movie.

To-sir-with-love-movie-poster-1967

If you wanted the sky
I would write across the sky in letters
That would soar a thousand feet high
To Sir, with love

Lulu, To Sir with Love

MPW-63770

Mark Thackeray (Sidney Poitier) with his students

Spreading of ‘To Sir with Love’: The movie was based on the issues that usually arises in this kind of schools with the kind of neighborhood it was surrounded with. Being mainly for the education purpose, the movie did very well getting its name on the list of a ‘Must seen classic Movie of all time’. The soundtrack became very popular mainly the title track, ‘To Sir with Love’ which was sungΒ by Lulu. It even received the Best Original Score for a Motion Picture or Television ShowΒ at theΒ 10th Annual Grammy Awards.

A friend who taught me right from wrong
And weak from strong
That’s a lot to learn, what
can I give you in return?

If you wanted the moon
I would try to make a star
But I, would rather you let me give my heart
To Sir, with love

Lulu, To Sir with Love

To Sir with Love is my all time favorite movie. I love watching this movie with my Nana along with a hot cup of tea and some muffins or cakes made by me! I always end up crying, all the dialogues I know, frame-to-frame I know the movie but I love it so much that I can still watch it again. Saying that, I’m gonna watch it tonight, what about you? Catch a glimpse of this trailer, you’ll understand what I am trying to say πŸ™‚

Rating:Β star-512star-512star-512star-512star-512

231645174304411140216

Leave a Reply

