August Book Haul

Whenever and where ever I smell books, I need to get one at least. I was going through Flipkart and saw this amazing offers on books and without a second thought I bought three of them and I am totally excited to share them with you. Since I am highly interested in India’s past, I am mostly getting books related to such genre. My previous book reviews will give you an idea about what I am saying 😀

IMG_1327

  • This month I bought myself Vishwamitra by Dr. Vineet Aggarwal. The story of Menaka and Vishwamitra got me hooked after I read Menaka’s Choice by Kavita Kane. Menaka’s Choice talks about Menaka’s life whereas this book talks about just Vishwamitra, his rule, his greed of winning over the heaven and his life with Menaka. Born out of a mix-up of magic potion between Satyavati, wife of Rishi Ruchik and her mother Queen Ratna not only changes their child’s destiny but also the history of mankind. Vishwamitra with the quality of a Brahmin and the son of a Kshatriya strives to become the ultimate and most powerful of all gurus.
  • The next book I bought was The Aryavarta Chronicles Part 2: Kaurava by Krishna Udaysankara. Another book that talks about Mahabharata. Emperor Dharma Yudhishtir of the Kauravas and Empress Panchali Draupadi rule over Aryavarta built by Govinda Shauri. To get what the Kauravas think to be their, plans are put in play with treachery which transforms Aryavarta into its own enemy. The gambling leads to giving up the empire, the tortured empress is forced into exile with her husbands. Govinda, a broken man needs to protect Aryavarta and the women in whose trusted hands he had left it by playing a dangerous game.
  • Last but not the least, The Mahabharata Quest by Christopher Doyle. Mahabharata and I go back a long way. Since little, my grandfather told me the stories of Mahabharata war, Kauravas and Pandavas, Karna, Kunti, and all these stories always interested me so buying this book was a must for me. This book shuttles between 334 BC and the present time when Alexander the Great begins his conquest of the Persian Empire but his glory doesn’t end there and he reaches the land of Indus leading him to find a secret which is powerful enough to transform him into a god. In now time, the Intelligence Bureau discovers things which lead them to encounter shocking secrets from the past.

P.S. I am currently reading The Sialkot Saga by Ashwin Sanghi, another great book, soon the review will be up!

231645174304411140216

Leave a Reply

