Book Review: Finding Juliet

unnamed (1).jpg
Title: Finding Juliet
Author: Toffee
Genre: Fiction, YA, Romance
Publisher: Srishti Publishers & Distributors

I am so much thankful and glad for receiving this book. I received a copy from Writersmelon in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. I ain’t much of a romantic person but still, I thought why not give it a try. I probably think this is my first romantic book after I read Love Story by Erich Segal. So, here goes my review πŸ˜€

signature_dxlc0gjntbab2qdqkm

I have no idea how many times true love happens but in the case of Arjun, it happened not once, not twice, but thrice. Arjun’s character is interesting, he is an incrediblyΒ nice guy who believes in true love and is totally waiting for his true love to arrive with open arms. Weirdly, every single girl who gets close to him ends up pushing him away.Β His only pillar of strength in all his moments of grief and dejection is his childhood friend Anjali. He shifts from Hyderabad to Bangalore after all the heartbreaking games played by his fate. In Bangalore, he ends up meeting Krish who is an irresistible flirt. He sees through Arjun and at one go understands his misery. He slowly and steadily makes Arjun understand the complicity of the most complication creation by God, Women and this enlightenment changes Arjun’s life forever.

Now the question that arises, will Arjun find the one he has been waiting for, or will he end up becoming a flirt? Will he ever have his “happily ever after”?

signature_k8uo4p56rosmylsvnw

The first half talks mostly about falling in love and heartbreak, followed by the second half, which gives Arjun a lesson of his lifetime, all thanks to Krish. The lesson talks about ways to get over the heartbreak and live life king size, one can say. Arjun understands his drawbacks and then eventually changes himself – he joins the gym, he gets a makeover, he learns new moves and all with the help of Krish. And ultimately ends up having multiple affairs, simultaneously with a range of lovers, starting from college girls to married ladies.

The ending of the book is a bit slow than expected, although the characterisation of Anjali is proper done and I think she gives a different dimension to the story. By the end of the book, I did not really like the way Arjun was portrayed, his selfish and ignorant attitude towards Anjali was not justified at all. Out of all, I would say that the character of Krish was the best of all, he had the power to transform one’s life 180 degrees and heΒ did that with Arjun who was the protagonist. The book was fine, it wasn’t that amazing though. For me, it was one-time read, I wouldn’t like to read it again. The potential of writing a better book is surely there and I would like to see how the author develops himself in the near future.

Rating: Β star-512star-512

 

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. AvalinahsBooks · 12 Days Ago

    Hi! I am just making sure my email reached you, just in case πŸ˜€ it sometimes goes to spam. Also, ooh! I’ve never heard of Writersmelon! Very interesting, I will check it out πŸ™‚ and it’s too bad you didn’t like this book 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

