SWEET SWEET REVENGE LTD // BOOK REVIEW

Here’s what Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd is about:

Victor Alderheim has a lot to answer for. Not only has he heartlessly tricked his young ex-wife, Jenny, out of her art gallery inheritance, but he has also abandoned his son, Kevin, to die in the middle of the Kenyan savanna.

It doesn’t occur to Victor that Kevin might be rescued and adopted by a Maasai medicine man, or that he might be expected to undergo the rituals expected of all new Maasai warriors – which have him running back to Stockholm as fast as you can say circumcision without anaesthetic.

Back in Stockholm, Kevin’s path crosses with Jenny’s – and they have an awful lot to talk about, not least a shared desire to get even with Victor. So it’s convenient when they run into a man selling revenge services, who has an ingenious idea involving Victor’s cellar, a goat, some forged paintings, four large boxes of sex toys, and a kilo of flour …

I’ve had difficulties while writing a review before but this time, I am not sure where to begin. Alright, let me give it a try. I remember mum sharing a brief about William Shakespeare’s The Comedy of Errors, I found it so logically hilarious. When I saw Jonas Jonasson’s Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd is up for review, I didn’t a single minute and requested for it knowing how well the writer is. With everyone rooting about his previous books, I grabbed the opportunity. Clearly, didn’t go well.

This book gives the vibe of the whole comedy of errors concept in a way. The book starts with Victor Alderheim’s greed and Hugo’s creative skills, Jenney being the only heir of a prominent art gallery, Kevin being Victor’s abandoned son, followed by Ole Mbatian, a Maasai medicine man who adopts Kevin. The whole concept of having a company that helps people seek revenge be it right or wrong was fascinating.

The initial few chapters were rather interesting, especially when the story started unfolding itself. The way the story interweaved within itself was good, but the pace of the book made me not want to read it. The complete first half of the book was extremely slow, by the time I somehow reached the last bit, I had to practically force myself to finish it.

The book was interesting, to be honest, but that was it! I lost interest by the time I reached mid-way. I expected something, got something else. Could have been so much better for sure. Now I am a bit doubtful, should pick his other books or not.

Decisions, decisions!

  • Ratings – 2.5 stars
  • Find Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd on Amazon
  • Find Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd on Goodreads

Thanks Harper Collins India for the gifted read. My opinions haven’t been influenced by the author or the publisher.

Leave a comment